JBS Leadership Institute logo


Texas Leadership Awards

2017 Texas Leadership Award Winners

Outstanding Texas Leader: The Outstanding Texas Leader award exemplifies the leadership spirit of John Ben Shepperd who advocated that all Texans have a responsibility to serve their state. Nominees must demonstrate significant and sustained leadership while exhibiting character and high standards of ethics. Their actions generally have consistent statewide reach and impact.

The 2017 recipient of the Outstanding Texas Leader award is Texas Senator Kel Seliger.

Kel Seliger was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2004. Senate District 31 spans 37 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin and includes Amarillo, Midland, Odessa and Big Spring. Born in Amarillo and raised in Borger, Senator Seliger is a graduate of Borger public schools and Dartmouth College.  He spent 35 years in the steel industry. Senator Seliger currently serves as Chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee and is a member of the Senate Education Committee, Senate Finance Committee, Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development, Senate Committee on Business and Commerce, and the Select Committee on Government Facilities. Senator Seliger has been recognized by many groups for his conservative principles as well as his dedication to small government and local control. He has been named a Fighter for Free Enterprise by the Texas Association of Business four times for his steadfast support of policies that encourage and promote a healthy business climate in Texas. Seliger is privileged to be the recipient of the Texas Municipal League 2015 Legislator of the Year Award, Texas Conservative Coalition’s Conservative Champion Award, Texas Association of Counties Friend of County Government Award, Texas Wildlife Association’s Conservation Hero Award, the Conservative Roundtable of Texas’ 2015 Effective Conservative Lawmaker, and the Texas Parent Teacher Association Legislative Honor Roll for his work during the 84th Legislative Session. Prior to his election to the Senate, Senator Seliger served four terms as Mayor of Amarillo and as a member of the Amarillo City Commission and the Amarillo Civil Service Commission.  He and his wife Nancy reside in Amarillo, and have two sons, Jonathan and Matthew.

Outstanding Local Leader: The Outstanding Local Leader award exemplifies the leadership spirit of John Ben Shepperd who advocated that all Texans have a responsibility to serve their local communities. Nominees must demonstrate significant and sustained leadership while exhibiting character and high standards of ethics. Their actions generally have consistent local or regional reach and impact. However, many Outstanding Local Leaders have also served in state and federal roles as well.

The 2017 recipient of the Outstanding Local Leader award is Mr. Guillermo (Memo) Treviño.


Guillermo (Memo) Trevino is president of Southern Distributing, a multi-brand beer and soft drink distributor. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of BBVA Compass USA, the Board of Trustees of Rice University, and the Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.  He is also member of the Governing Board of the Holdsworth Foundation. He has served as a Director of the San Antonio Branch of the Dallas Federal Reserve and as a member of the Boards of Directors of the International Bank of Commerce and International Bancshares Corporation.  He has also served as President of the Laredo Boy’s and Girl’s Clubs, the Laredo Chamber of Commerce, the Laredo Development Foundation, the Washington’s Birthday Celebration Association, and as Jefe de los Caballeros de la Republica del Rio Grande.  He has also been a member of the Board of the Texas Alliance of Boy’s and Girl’s Clubs, the Texas A&M International College of Business Advisory Council, and Casa de Misericordia shelter for victims of domestic violence. Trevino earned a BA from Rice University and received an Option II MBA from the University of Texas at Austin.

Shepperd Pathfinder: The Shepperd Pathfinder award recognizes young Texas leaders in the age group of 21 to 40 years old. John Ben Shepperd believed in encouraging young people to “get off the sidelines” and learn to contribute early in their careers. Nominees demonstrate break-through, 21st century type leadership while exhibiting strong character and impeccable ethics.

The 2017 recipient of the Shepperd Pathfinder award is Mr. Clayton Lane.

p1250688Clayton Lane was born and raised in his hometown of Wichita Falls, TX. He started his college career at Midwestern State University and graduated from the University of North Texas with a degree in Anthropology and a minor in Archaeology. He is currently a Project Manager at James Lane Air Conditioning and Plumbing, a family owned mechanical contractor. While at James Lane, he has helped implement multiple green initiatives including; solar, rainwater harvesting, and recycling. In 2016, he attained his HVAC license and highest level of fire sprinkler inspection certification.  In the community, he has served as chair of the 47miles project raising funds for the American Red Cross and President of Downtown Wichita Falls Development. Clayton also serves as a Maverick of Wichita Falls, a non-profit that cooks free ribs for organizations and promotes the city of Wichita Falls, TX. In 2012, he was named Top 20 under 40 leaders in the community, and in 2013 he received the Spirit of Texoma award.

Shepperd Trailblazer: The Shepperd Trailblazer award recognizes the demonstrated leadership behaviors of young Texans in their Junior or Senior year of high school. The nominee must be a Texas High School Junior or Senior, and have a GPA of 3.0 or higher at the time of the award presentation.

The 2017 recipient of the Shepperd Trailblazer award is Ms. Avery Marie Bullock.


Avery Bullock is a junior at Weatherford High School and is currently ranked number 1 in her class. Avery is active on her school’s University Interscholastic League (UIL) academic teams, Junior Class Secretary, a Lieutenant on the award winning Blue Belle Drill Team, a member of Student Council, a statistician for the varsity baseball team, and serves on the Superintendent Student Advisory Council. When she is not working at a local clothing boutique or at school, Avery finds time to volunteer for many organizations throughout the year, some of which include The Salvation Army, Relay for Life, and the Brazos River Regional Day School Program for the Deaf.

The JBS Texas Leadership Forum Awards Banquet takes place on Friday, February 3, 2017 at the Bullock Texas State History Museum, 1800 Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701. It starts promptly at 6:45 PM. Both the 2017 Outstanding Texas Leader and the 2017 Outstanding Local Leader will also be inducted into the Texas Leadership Hall of Fame. The event is open to registered Texas Leadership Forum conference attendees. However, both individual seats and tables can be bought by contacting Ms. Katie Lopez, John Ben Shepperd Institute at 432-552-2852 or at lopez_k@utpb.edu. To register for the conference, please visit: http://shepperdinstitute.com/events/texas-leadership-forum/texas-leadership-forum-registration/

The John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute is the state’s Center of Excellence for public leadership education, ethics, and public service. It prepares young Texans in these areas and conducts on-site leadership training at schools and organizations throughout Texas. The JBS Institute is co-located and part of the University of Texas of the Permian Basin (UTPB). Information about the Shepperd Institute and the Texas Leadership Forum is available at www.shepperdinstitute.com .


Past Award Winners

Take a look at our past award winners.