JBS Leadership Institute logo


Shepperd Leadership Roundups

No Shepperd Leadership Roundups are scheduled at this time. Please check back for details of upcoming Shepperd Leadership Roundups as they are scheduled.


Below is a list of past leadership roundups.

Police and Community: We Are One

(November 15, 2016)

Speakers: Ector County Sheriff Mark Donaldson, Midland County Sheriff Gary Painter, Odessa Police Chief Tim Burton, and Midland Police Chief Price Robinson; moderated by Dr. Robert Brescia. Click here for photos.


Documentary Film Screening: Bring It to the Table

(April 7, 2016)

Speaker: Emmy-nominated director Julie Winokur; moderated by Dr. Robert Brescia. Click here for photos.


Ethics of Public Service: Living in Glass Houses with the Curtains Open

(October 21, 2015)

Speakers: Sen. Kel Seliger, Rep. Brooks Landgraf, Odessa Mayor David Turner, Midland Mayor Jerry Morales, Midland Councilman J.Ross Lacy; moderated by Dr. Robert Brescia.



Terrorism: How it Will Affect Your Future

(April 23, 2015)

Speaker: Dr. Peter Tarlow. Click here for photos.


Achieving Educational Success Together – A Community Approach

(May 29, 2014)

Speakers: Valerie Longoria, Director, Catholic Charities of Odessa; Dennis McEntire, Superintendent, Presidio ISD; Thomas Crowe, Superintendent, Ector County ISD; Steve Thomas, President, Midland College; W. David Watts, President, UTPB; Greg Williams, President, Odessa College; Rex Peebles, Assistant Commissioner, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; Bobby Azam, Superintendent, Andrews ISD; Denise Shetter, Superintendent, Winona ISD; moderated by Dr. Frank Hernandez, UTPB Dean of Education.


Candidates Debate: Texas State House District 81, Republican Primary

(February 25, 2014)

Speakers: Austin Keith and Brooks Langraf, moderated by Dr. Robert Brescia. Click here for photos.


Screening: JFK: The Legacy of the New Frontier

(November 7, 2013)

Moderated by Dr. Robert Brescia. Click here for photos.


Creating the Cost of Tomorrow’s Water…Today!

(October 28, 2013)

Speakers: Senator Kel Seliger, Pat Canty, Kevin Urbanczyk, L’Oreal Stepney, Bech Brunn, Tom Davis; moderated by Darrell Peckham. Click here for photos.