JBS Leadership Institute logo


Governor appoints Lacy to aerospace, aviation committee


Posted: Thursday, January 28, 2016 4:47 pm | Updated: 1:57 pm, Fri Jan 29, 2016.

AUSTIN — City Councilman J.Ross Lacy was one of 10 people named by Gov. Greg Abbott to the Aerospace and Aviation Advisory Committee.

His term is set to expire Sept. 1, 2017.

Lacy told the Reporter-Telegram he was “completely honored” by the appointment.

“We are truly on the leading edge, on the tip of the iceberg of what the aerospace industry is going to be in the next 20 or 30 years,” Lacy said Friday. “Words cannot express the excitement of the future for our spaceport and the state of Texas. I am happy to serve with other members of the committee and I serve at the pleasure of the governor. I’m happy to go to Austin and bring a little common sense that way.”

He said that the meeting schedule  likely will be once a month but the board could meet more often if Abbott considers it necessary.

Lacy is president of the Midland Spaceport Development Corp. board, which chose him as its representative to be considered for a position on the committee. Lacy said he submitted the application in June and learned shortly before Christmas that Abbott would move forward with his appointment.

Lacy is president of Lacy Oil Corp. and also is a member of the University of Texas of the Permian Basin Development Board, John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute Advisory Council, University of Texas Permian Basin College of Business and Engineering Advisory Board and Junior Achievement of the Permian Basin Board of Directors.

He received a Bachelor of Business Administration in finance from UTPB.

Also named to the commitee for terms through Sept. 1, 2017 are Sharon Denny of McKinney, vice president of strategy for Raytheon Space and Airborne System; Amy Gowder of San Anotnio, vice president of Supply Chain Management for Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Co.; Cathy Kilmain of North Richland Hills, executive vice president of engineering for Bell Helicopter; Bob Mitchell of Pearland, president of the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership; and Terry Stevens of Waco, partner of First Title Co. of Waco, LLC, and president/CEO of M&I Industries Inc.

Appointees for terms through Sept. 1, 2019 are John Elbon of Seabrook, vice president and general manager of Space Exploration at Boeing; Robert Harless of Dallas, vice president and general manager of the Gulfstream Service Facility; Janine K. Iannarelli of Houston,  founder and president of Par Avion Ltd.; and Gilberto Salinas of Brownsville, executive vice president of the Brownsville Economic Development Council.

© 2016 MRT.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.