JBS Leadership Institute logo


Reps Pickett and Darby to host Special Session at JBS Texas Leadership Forum

The John Ben Shepperd Institute has obtained the commitment of two great Texas legislators, Representatives Joe Pickett (D – El Paso) and Drew Darby (R – San Angelo), to host a special session at our upcoming Texas Leadership Forum. The breakout session will canvass important transportation infrastructure issues in Texas. Another great reason to sign up now for this not-to-be-missed conference! For more information, see http://shepperdinstitute.com/events/texas-leadership-forum/

Joe C. Pickett is a member of the Texas House of Representatives, where he is presently serving his tenth term. Rep. Pickett is currently serving as Chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to: law enforcement; the prevention of crime and the apprehension of criminals; the provision of security services by private entities; homeland security, including: the defense of the state and nation, including terrorism response; and disaster mitigation, preparedness, response,
and recovery; and the following state agencies: the Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education, the Department of Public Safety, the Texas Division of Emergency Management, the Emergency Management Council, the Texas Forensic Science Commission, the Texas Military Preparedness Commission, the Texas Private Security Board, the Commission on State Emergency Communications, and the Texas Crime Stoppers Council. In addition, he is a member of the House Committee on Transportation and the House Committee on Redistricting. He is ranked 17th in seniority of the 150 members of the Texas House.

Drew Darby was elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 2006 to serve the people of House District 72. He is a native of San Angelo, Texas and attended San Angelo public schools. Representative Darby attended the University of Texas and earned a Bachelor of Business Administration with a major in Finance and a minor in Accounting. He earned a Doctorate of Jurisprudence from the University of Texas in 1971 and is a graduate of the Emerging Political Leaders Program at the Darden School of Business, University of Virginia. He is serving his fourth term on the House Committee on Appropriations, chairing the subcommittee on Natural Resources, Business & Economic Development and Regulatory agencies. He also serves as Chairman of the Redistricting Committee and a member of the House Higher Education Committee.